The results are in…

I spent yesterday morning and afternoon in a cooking/baking frenzy. Too much Roo’s Roast, perhaps?

Whatever the reason, I was a whirling dervish in the kitchen, with somewhat mixed results. However, I promised the report, so here it is:

Ribs: These turned out fine – no surprised. all day in  crockpot with no dded liquid had them falling apart by the time we extracted them and sauced them up.

Sandwich Bread: Very impressive! As the book promised, the recipe turned out a loaf of moist, dense, not-too-crusty sandwich-worthy bread. I used half wheat flour and half white, but you could certainly use all white if you prefer. Noe liked it, but is still skeptical about my plan to replace all store-bought bread with homemade. *sigh*

Ready to bake

Fresh from the oven

Tiramisu Cookies: These were actually a disappointment. I had read the recipe ahead of time, so I knew they would be a lot of work, but I just don’t think the end result is worth it. I would rather have actual tiramisu if I am putting in that kind of effort. To the cookies’ credit, there is nothing WRONG with them; they do actually taste like tiramisu, but there is something lacking. I will still eat them (and my mom liked them!), but I probably won’t make them again. Here is a link to the Martha Stewart recipe if you want to check them out yourself.

Messier than Martha's...and only so-so.

Bonus round: What do you do when you end up with a couple hunks of Antique Gruyere and English Farmhouse Cheddar from Zingerman’s that are too small to hit the shelves? You prep a delicious macaroni and cheese and stick it in the fridge to bake on a rainy day!

Yum

Yummier

So that’s the round-up. Alas, there will be no kitchen adventures today as I have to work, but I am sure there will be more ahead this holiday season!

Leave a Reply

