Blah Humbug

Noe and I are on the home stretch of working our holiday jobs. Although the jobs have been fun, getting used to the schedules has been quite an adjustment. As a bench scientist, Noe certainly didn’t work too many midnights, and I had adapted quite well to the 8-5-ish schedule I’d been working for the past six years.

Layering up before a cold shift

With me going in to work at 11:00 a.m. or noon and working until 7:00 or 8:00 p.m. and Noe leaving the house at 8:30 p.m. to make it in for a 9:00 overnight shift, we’ve barely seen each other these past few weeks, let alone eaten a meal together. We’ve been living on work meals and foraging through the cupboards, at least until this past weekend, when I stayed up past midnight to cook everything in our refrigerator so we would have leftovers to power through this last week (herb-roasted pork tenderloin and chili – at least they are GOOD leftovers!)

An unexpected upside of our barely overlapping schedules has been that I’ve been able to procure and wrap all of my Christmas gifts to Noe without his knowledge – no stealth required. An unexpected downside is that I don’t think Mr. Midnight has done any Christmas shopping – there is not a single package under the tree with my name on it. Hmmm.

Um, where are MY gifts?

Naturally, this existence makes for a fairly boring blog, hence the lack of posts lately. Aside from seeing Patti’s show and scrambling to get things made for the Ann Arbor Cat Clinic Bake Sale, I haven’t really been doing anything lately other than working, coming home, wrapping a few gifts, and watching Christmas movies (or The Godfather). Hardly fodder for an enthralling post.

This is not to say that I have accomplished nothing in the past week. I did manage to finish knitting four partially-finished scarves that I found in a plastic bin while searching for my winter coats (which I still haven’t found):

Who wants a scarf for Christmas?

I have finished readingtwo historical fiction novels about the Roman Empire that I purchased at the Indianapolis Library Book Sale (Cleopatra’s Daughter by Michelle Moran was very good; it took me much longer to get into Pilate’s Wife by Antoinette May):

I'm sure they're full of historical innaccuracies. Whatever.

And just because I’ve been subsiding on snacks doesn’t mean that I’m eating Fritos and bean dip (although, truth be told, that sounds rather delicious) – my work scores of late have been excellent. Ralphie and I nosh on such delicacies as truffle mousse pate, Parmesan and Lancashire cheeses, and Virginia Diner peanuts during repeated viewings of White Christmas and Miracle on 34th Street (well, I nosh on the pate and peanuts; Ralph sticks mainly to cheese – he’s got an amazing cheese palate):

Some Booty Bin delights

Reading that back…yeah, still not very exciting. Oh, well – I have some good activities planned for January that should spice up the blog a bit, and you never know what the holidays themselves will bring.  Until then, cheers to a happy holiday season!

Leave a Reply

