Crossing country

Ahhh, snow. I love it, though I seem to be a minority in that sense. My husband – a native of the Phillipines, mind you – is not particularly fond of the cold white powder (Islanders! Hmmph.) and thinks I’m perhaps a bit crazy for wanting to spend so much time in it.

While I admit that wind chills below zero are not my thing, I find temperatures between 18 and 30 degrees farenheit quite appealing, provided there’s at least a small dusting of snow on the ground. Luckily, our first winter back in the mitten is reminiscent of the true Michigan winters I remember from my childhood (not quite as good, but getting there).

I waxed poetic a few weeks ago about sledding at the cabin, but there’s plenty of winter fun to be had here in our southeastern corner of the state as well. A few years ago I invested in a pair of used cross-country skis. They were extremely inexpensive. Unlike downhill skiing, which gets pricey even when you own your equipment as I do, cross-country skiing is cheap. There are trails and golf courses everywhere around here.

Yes, I said golf courses. Huron Hills not only welcomes skiers, but rents skis for those looking to try before they buy. But the best golf course skiing around is at the University of Michigan’s Radrick Farms golf course off of Geddes Road. I went with my mom on a recent Sunday and couldn’t believe how pretty it was with its barns, tunnels, bridges, and creeks. Beautiful.

Over the river...

...and through the tunnel.

Where is your favorite place to cross-country ski?

One thought on “Crossing country

Leave a Reply

