We can do this the easy way, or we can do this the easier way.

We all have our secret white trash recipes. I like to call my personal favorite “Ghetto Chicken Pot Pie.”

What separates this pot pie from classy comfort food, you ask? Well, you could start with the can of Campbell’s Cream of Chicken soup that thickens up the filling. Or you could start with the Bisquik that forms the crust. You could potentially note the fact that it resembles the Schwan’s Chicken Casserole more than it does a traditional pot pie. (Not that anyone here is familiar with the Schwan’s Chicken Casserole, right? Wink, wink.)

OK, so the Schwan's looks pretty good.

Anyway, I make this chicken pot pie sometimes for our weekly “Nabes Dinner” with our neighbors (who happen to be my sister and her boyfriend). Being that Kristen and Brock are potentially on an all-processed food diet, they have no issues with this pot pie whatsoever. They probably wish I would just order from the Schwan’s man (just kidding, Kristen!)

My version is a modified Paul Deen recipe, hence the entire stick of melted butter poured over the top prior to baking.

I basically start by chopping some chicken. This could be anything I happen to have leftover – thighs, breasts, marinated, roasted, grilled, rotisserie – whatever. As long as it isn’t barbecued or fried, it has potential. I don’t really have a set amount of chicken that I use; Noe prefers “more” rather than “less.”

Veggies consist of an equal amount of chopped up carrot (I always seem to have two or three puny carrots left in my fridge from some other cooking adventure) combined with an equal amount – half a cup or so, usually – of frozen peas (a freezer staple in my house – they end up in many things that I decide need “greening up”). A cup of frozen mixed veggies also work, but I like the carrots to have a little crunch and I hate green beans in pot pie, so I use this combo.

The main components

I then mix up the aforementioned can of Cream of Chicken with a cup of chicken stock in a 2-quart casserole (how glorious it is when I have homemade stock on hand; how absolutely fine it is to use Trader Joe’s brand when I don’t). After mixing these together and whisking the lumps out, I add the chopped-up chicken and veggies. I season to taste.

Then comes the fun part. I mix up an equal amount of Bisquik and milk. I usually use skim milk, and usually from a local producer such as Calder Dairy or Guernsey, but I’m going to go out on a limb with this recipe and say it probably doesn’t matter. This delightful mixture gets poured over the top of the veggie/soup/chicken combination.

The finishing touch: melt a stick of butter in the microwave and pour it over the top. My head tells me this step is probably “optional” but my heart tells me it’s not.

I then proceed to stick the pie in an oven that is preheated to maybe 400, maybe 425 degrees (it changes every time) and cook it for a minimum of 40 minutes and sometimes a lot longer (this may sound like a long time, but compared to “real” chicken pot pie, this is no time at all).  After you take it out, you should let it sit 15 minutes or so so the inside can thicken up a bit.

I then forget to to take a picture of the finished product and just dish out giant helpings to the nabes and my husband. The three of them eat this up like it’s going out of style. I’m not going to lie – I find it pretty tasty myself.

Side dish suggestions:

Spinach salad with red onions, slivered almonds, chopped bacon, and homemade bacon vinaigrette (yeah, I DID class that up a bit), spice cake with cinnamon cream cheese frosting (thanks, Kristen!) and Brock’s version of a Cosmopolitan, consisting of vodka and Faygo Ohana Punch.

All class, all the time.

Leave a Reply

