B-L-T! B-L-T!

I made a glorious BLT tonight. It’s the first one I’ve had all summer. Let’s analyze the components:

Assembling the troops.

  • The bacon, procured at the last Zingerman’s warehouse sale, was Edwards Hickory Smoked  Bacon – amazingly salty in the best possible way; the perfect choice for a BLT as the saltiness and smokiness spice up the not-so-seasoned bread/tomato/lettuce/mayonnaise.
  • The tomato was purchased at the Corn Stand on the corner of Geddess and Harris roads. It was red and plump and juicy – and cheap. Much better than anything from a grocery store.
  • BLT lettuce has to be iceberg. No fancy “greens” for me – I need the utilitarian crunch of what I’ve dubbed “the working man’s lettuce.” (Yes, it’s late, I’ve been watching the cliche-filled Olympic broadcasts and I’m drinking wine.)
  • Mayonnaise is a point of contention for me. Normally it ranks second-to-last on my condiment scale, surpassed only by ranch dressing (gross, gross, gross). But a thin smear of good old full-fat Hellman’s on toasted bread can take a club sandwich or BLT to another level. (And mix a little pesto with that mayo and you’ve got yourself something entirely different.)
  • Bread: I had every intention of going to Zingerman’s Bakehouse for a loaf of farm bread. That didn’t happen. Instead, I stopped at Kroger on my way home and picked up some individual sandwich-sized ciabattas from the bakery section. These little squares of delightfulness proved unexpectedly perfect my purposes – they toasted (well, grilled) up nicely, weren’t too dense or too flaky, and had a nice, yeasty flavor. I was pleasantly surprised.

The bacon was already cooked from last night’s brinner, so really all I did was cut the ciabatta in half and throw it on my “panini press” AKA my mini George Foreman grill (talk about a workhorse – that thing comes in handy more times than I can count), chop the lettuce and tomato – I like to cut the lettuce into thick strips and quarter the tomato slices  (I also blot the tomato so it isn’t quite so wet), and scrape the toasted bread with that ever-so-slight helping of Hellman’s.

The fully assembled product.

Perfection.

 

Leave a Reply

